Columbus Crew Sc vs NYCFC 

My travels took me down to Columbus (CBus as we call it) today for a Crew SC match (soccer/fútbol). I’m a season ticket holder so I’ve been down to the matches frequently this season. This game though I’ve been looking forward to the most all season.

When I was a young girl in grade school I loved soccer but I had an injury and I left the sport. After my first trip to Barcelona in 2009, I rediscovered fútbol (soccer). I discovered FC Barcelona. David Villa Sánchez started playing for them at some point and he quickly became a favorite of mine (other than Messi and Xavi.)

David moved from Spain to start in the inagural season for NYC FC a expansion team for MLS. Tonight The Crew met them for a match for the first time at MAPFRE Stadium. Of course I snapped pics. He ended up getting a yellow card when he collided with goalie, Steve Clark. He didn’t score (good and bad) but I had a great time. We had a lightening delay and ended up leaving early but it ended in a 2-2 draw.

  

I met so many people tonight. A man from the UK, a Albania family (Barca fans), and a couple from Brooklyn. Then the rain came and along with it lightening. They delay when that happens after someone was struck last year. But I chose to leave and head back home early.

Leave a comment