Cedar Point Trip

If you are not from Ohio or the surrounding states you may not be familiar with Cedar Point in Sandusky, OH. Cedar Point sits on a 365 acre peninsula on Lake Erie. The park first opened in 1870 and is the second oldest operating amusement park in America. Cedar Point is the flagship park chain owned by Cedar Fair Entertainment Company, one of two parks in Ohio (the other is Kings Island in Mason, Oh, near Cincinnati). It is known affectionately as “America’s Roller Coast” and features one of the largest collections of roller coasters in America. Besides the primary park, Cedar Point also has Challenge Park with putt putt golf, bungie coasters, go carts etc. . ., Soak City Water Park, two marinas, a one mile long white sand beach, a historic hotel; The Hotel Breakers, a campground, two other on site hotel/cabin accommodations and a indoor water park, Castaway Bay (off the main peninsula).

I have been going to Cedar Point since I was little and it’s family tradition for most Ohioans.  People come from all around Ohio and the country to visit. Anyone who is a thrill seeker usually visit Cedar Point for the mega coasters.

I have been pretty busy this summer, well actually all year, and I hadn’t made it up yet. I have a season pass even. Horrible I know. But, Saturday I finally made it up. It’s only about a hour and half away from me, my pass also has parking included as well so all I need is a bit of gas and food money. I am a thrill rider and I will ride anything. My mom will ride anything unless it goes up-side-down. Though I wanted to ride everything, I took it easy and just meandered around with mom and did a bit of this and a bit of that. Some of which, we had never done before or hadn’t done in a long time. There is always something new and different things to see at Cedar Point. Whether it be live shows, gift shops,new rides, attractions, food stalls or updates to attractions. Cedar Point also celebrates Halloween with Halloweekends in September and October which includes funhouses, haunts, parades and more.

I do not think I have ever started my Cedar Point day off with riding The Sky Ride but Saturday, we did. Next we went to The Iron Dragon, a steel, suspended coaster. After grabbing a bite to eat and checking out the newly converted coaster, Rougarou, we walked along the Frontier Trail. The trail is a shaded trail with an old western theme that runs into water rides, shops, and a petting zoo. We wandered over to The Mean Streak, a wooden coaster that is near the Cedar Point & Lake Erie Railway, a couple of saloons, and caddy-cornered from the steel coaster, The Maverick. The Mean Streak really rocks and rolls you as a typical wooden coaster does. It is fast, has tight turns and I love it. There is something about a wooden coaster that is just special. After the Streak we walked to The Cedar Creek Mine Ride. This is a smaller, older coaster with charm. It is designed with a mine car feel and will surprise you with tight turns and quick but small drops. The Gemini is the first big coaster I rode when I was 12 years old. I was too tall to ride the Jr. Gemini (which is now The Woodstock Express in Snoopy Town). I was ready to ride it but my mom wasn’t ready for me to ride but I won that day. I’ve been hooked ever since. The Gemini is a wooden, racing coaster. One train red and one train blue. It’s a classic coaster and always a fun time! While we were in line we heard someone say that the line for The Magnum XL 200 was about an hour. That coaster was the first “giga-coaster” and first coaster to break the 200 foot mark. The Magnum is a great coaster as well. It’s a typic “out and back” coaster but has something special besides that “long” chain trip up the hill. The wait was only about a half hour but it would’t have mattered to me or mom. We can’t goto Cedar Point and not ride The Magnum.

Since we were taking things slow Saturday we decided to go over to The Hotel Breakers after the Magnum and check out the updates they made to the lobby and in general. The hotel was always beautiful but they like to keep things freshly updated. The hotel was built in 1905 so it has that rich history and is a wonderful place to stay. The original section of the hotel is popular and fills up fast. I have only stayed in the hotel twice. Once in the original before the renovation in 1997 and once after in the newer towers. Each is very nice accommodations with great views of Lake Erie and Cedar Point. The lobby was changed to incorporate old carousel horses from the original carousel rides in the park (1925 models). The lobby runs into a large atrium with a circular tower and then out the doors you have direct and quick access to the beach. We relaxed out on the beach for a bit and then went to Perkins back inside the hotel. After we walked back to the park and did some shopping, grabbed some salt water taffy and cotton candy from the new Candy Shoppe on the midway and left early. I hate leaving early but we were taking things slow today. I plan on going back up on Labor Day with some more family and I can ride more rides.

Leave a comment