Montserrat & Barcelona, Spain

This morning we had our last breakfast in Valencia. As I savored my last glass of truly wonderful orange juice (Valencian Oranges!!!) my thoughts turned to the bus trip to Montserrat and Barcelona. It has been 6 years since my first time there.

Brad gave mom and Dianna the daily pain medicine. We wandered back upstairs to grab our bags. Goodbye Valencia and hello Montserrat. We walked to a block down to the main street to catch our motor coach. The street where our hotel is was too narrow to come right up to the hotel. We left the city and soon began to see the blue Mediterranean Ocean. Port Adventura Amusement park was visible at one point by the roller coasters on the skyline. That was nice to see. I had heard about it it but obviously never seen it.

We stopped at a bus stop on the highway. These are much more than just roadside rest areas like we have in America. They more closely resemble the large truck stops like Love’s or Pilot but even then they do not compare. They are larger and are much nicer. Dianna and I ended up buying some Sangria here for later. *wink wink*

We headed first to Montserrat. This is a monastery that is literally built on a mountain. The road up the mountain is pretty breathtaking besides winding and steep. If you have ever been to Sedona,AZ it is like that only much higher. While climbing to the top you are treated to the view of the Pyrenees Mountains which create a natural boundary between Spain and France.

As you can imagine, the streets and parking area up there is pretty narrow. That being said, there were at least 7 motor coach buses there besides regular cars. We were let off the bus and made our way to the main building for a bathroom break. The building was being worked on so some areas were not open. Hugo led us down the rather long bridge to the actual monastery. I am not fond of bridges but I did not mind this one. The view of the Pyrenees, the tram train and the monastery itself. Once we reached the small little community as I called it, we stopped for lunch in the cafe there. Ah, memories. While mom, Dianna, Juanita and I were eating, one of them said the man sitting at the next table looked like Barney Fife. Sure enough, he did. It was creepy!! That was pretty funny. After we ate we watched an educational video (geared to smaller children I think but interesting none the less. The museum depicted the history of the monastery with videos, photos and relics from the past. We wandered up the stairs to the courtyard and the actual monastery. This monastery where the “black virgin” is housed. The statue has been blackened over time by the candle soot. This is Catalunya’s most revered religious symbols. She holds an orb that people can touch and it is said they are blessed if they touch it. You are not allowed to speak in the monastery either. Once we left the monastery we had a wine tasting in the gift shop for the adults. Hugo did not like the way the lady administered the tasting. I guess she acted oddly. I did not catch what she said since it was in Catalan not Spanish. Either way it was a nice experience. Shortly after that, we headed back to the main building and back to our coach.

We headed back down the mountain and headed to Barcelona. (YAY!!!!!)

It is only about 25 minutes south to Barcelona. I knew when we were coming into the city. I recognized things. Though, when I was last in Barcelona, I approached from the southern part of the city rather than the northern part. We came in by the port of Barcelona and Castel Monjunic (A fortress on top of a hill, near the Olympic Stadium). Our hotel was relatively close to this area. We were dropped off at the hotel, got checked in (and let me just say, being in Spain, my last name is NEVER mispronounced.  I love it!!) My room was a front facing room and with a very nice view of the city. We cleaned up and met down in the lobby and headed off to La Ramblas. We had some free time once Hugo pointed out the Christopher Columbus statue at the start of La Ramblas. Mom and I walked with Juanita and Dianna, bought some souvenirs and I looked for some of the places I saw in 2009. I just love that street. Vibrant, bustling with life and entertainment. I pointed out La Poma, the place me, mom, Stef and Donna ate at our last night in Barcelona in 2009. Ah, memories! I felt like wonderful and so happy to be in Barca.

We met Hugo at the end (or beginning depending on which end you started at haha) near the Gran Via (a block down) and near The Hard Rock Cafe. I asked  Hugo about a few streets so I basically knew where I was. My last hotel was on the Gran Via so it wasn’t too far. We walked back to the hotel and after some mingling and socializing we went to bed. Mom and I ended up in Dianna and Juanita’s room. We had ourselves some sangria! Madison came in, had a taste and we had a good time giggling.Good times!!

Tomorrow the long awaited Sagrada Familia Cathedral. SUPER EXCITED!!! to see the changes in 6 years!

Leave a comment